Mike Trout to Receive His Fifth Consecutive Silver Slugger Award

Updated: November 11, 2016

The Louisville Silver Slugger Award was presented LIVE on MLB Network on Thursday Afternoon, and although the MVP candidate himself may have the odds stack against him, Mike Trou does get another hardware: the Louisville Silver Slugger Award for the American League Centerfield.

In fact, if you want to call it, this sort of dynasty continues, as Trout won this award for the fifth consecutive year.

The 25-year-old performed very well in the offensive category with a .315 batting average and has the franchise record for the most walks in one season with 116 [leading the league in that department]. He also got 30 stolen bases, 29 home runs, 100 runs batted in, 123 total runs, and an on-base percentage of .441.

Here is the list of Silver Slugger Award winners:

Catcher — Salvador Perez, Royals
First base — Miguel Cabrera, Tigers [his second consecutive at this position]
Second base — José Altuve, Astros [his third consecutive]
Third base — Josh Donaldson, Blue Jays [his second consecutive]
Shortstop — Xander Bogaerts, Red Sox [his second consecutive]
Outfield — Mookie Betts, Red Sox
Outfield — Mike Trout, Angels
Outfield — Mark Trumbo, Orioles
Designated hitter — David Ortiz, Red Sox [his second consecutive]

Catcher — Wilson Ramos, Nationals
First base — Anthony Rizzo, Cubs
Second base — Daniel Murphy, Nationals
Third base — Nolan Arenado, Rockies
Shortstop — Corey Seager, Dodgers
Outfield — Charlie Blackmon, Rockies
Outfield — Yoenis Cespedes, Mets
Outfield — Christian Yelich, Marlins
Pitcher — Jake Arrieta, Cubs

Note that Arenado is the only player in the NL to win more than one and successfully defend their award after winning it in the previous year.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login