Preview of the Final Series of 2016: Houston @ Anaheim

By
Updated: September 30, 2016

The season will be wrapping up on Sunday for plenty of teams, except for the six that have already qualified by clinching their respected divisions, including the Texas Rangers. As for the Houston Astros, they are looking forward for next season, and we all know why they are now eliminated from playoff contention on Thursday.

HINT: It wasn’t that far when our beloved Angels took three of four at Minute Maid Park, and two of those games were via comeback, including a 6-run ninth inning. Even though the Astros did not play on Thursday due to travel, the Orioles were playing against the Blue Jays, who won on Thursday and took two of three at the Rogers Centre in Toronto, resulting in eliminating both the Astros and the Yankees from playoff contention. Now, they would more likely to finish in third place and is currently 3 wins behind their matching total from last season, at 83-76; meanwhile, the Angels are at 72-87, but won 85 games last season.

While fans are continuing to debate on who should win the 2016 American League’s Most Valuable Player, which features José Carlos Altuve and Michael Nelson Trout, there is one final series that is now as a series that has nothing to lose and nothing to play for, except for maybe the Draft for 2017.

As mentioned, the Angels took three of four at their place; now, it’s our turn to host, but would the roles reverse or will the Angels finish strong? We’ll find out very soon, but there’s one notable Angel slugger that may not be able to play:

Albert Pujols, who has dealt with plantar fasciitis in his right foot since mid-August, hasn’t played since Monday and may not be available to play before the season concludes. Oh, and remember what Athletics’ pitcher John Axford threw a 96 mph fastball to the shoulders of Mike Trout? Well, he says that he’s going to “grind it out” after he was drilled on Wednesday night.

Expected Starting Pitchers for the final weekend of 2016:

Day/ SP for Houston / SP for Anaheim
Friday – Brad Peacock [0-0, w/ a 2.67 ERA] vs. Daniel Wright [0-5, w/ 6.95 ERA]
Saturday – Collin McHugh [12-10, 4.53 ERA] vs. Tyler Skaggs [3-3, 4.13 ERA]
Sunday – TBA vs. TBA

Media:
On Television: Root Sports Southwest, FSN West.
On Radio: KBME-AM for English & KODA-FM for Spanish; KLAA-AM for English & KWKW-FM for Spanish

Location: At Angel Stadium of Anaheim in Anaheim, CA.
Expected to make a first pitch:
Friday at 7:05p PDT [9:05p CDT]
Saturday at 6:05p PDT [8:05p CDT]
Sunday at 12:05p PDT [2:05p CDT]

You must be logged in to post a comment Login